News Flash From Swallowtail Island!

The Swallowtail Citizen reports that on February 14, 2023, Lark Heron-Finch and the rest of her crazy, mixed-up family are back for more adventures on Swallowtail Island in Book 2 of the series: BETRAYAL BY THE BOOK.

Swallowtail Island is hosting the Swallowtales Writer’s Conference. Lark’s ecstatic to be chosen as a “page” for her favorite author, Ann E. Keyhart.
 
But they say you should never meet your idols. When Keyhart arrives with her personal assistant in tow, she is nothing but a terror. And within a few hours, the assistant is dead! But the explanation isn’t sitting well. Not when lots of people had reasons to want to be rid of Keyhart, and especially not after it’s revealed the assistant recently completed a hot new novel and the file’s vanished from her computer.
 
Then Lark finds out the assistant had a bird—the match to the one she found hidden in her mom’s book—and she needs answers. It looks like Swallowtail Island still has secrets to reveal, and Lark’s going to uncover them.
 

Betrayal Cover.jpg

Available Everywhere! The first book in a new series!
The Swallowtail Legacy: Wreck at Ada's Reef

STARRED REVIEWS
from Kirkus,

Publishers Weekly, AND

Shelf Awareness!
 

"Each character, historic and contemporary, sparks with life. Lark’s process and the reveals are perfectly paced. . . . Most heartwarming, Lark develops feelings of loyalty toward her blended family and uncovers a surprising link to their property. Readers will be hooked—more, please!"—Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

 

" . . . A disarmingly no-nonsense, self-aware narrator . . . tightly plotted story of family intrigue and blackmail has considerable emotional ballast . . ." Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

 

"Michael D. Beil's delightful middle-grade mystery is itself like an old novel: unhurriedly paced, impeccably written and including many orphaned children . . . a race-against-the-clock mystery with the signposts of a classic crime caper (a missing will, a curious old painting), but the book isn't a total throwback: homophobia influences a key plot point, and Lark emerges as something of a junior action hero." Shelf Awareness, Starred Review

"Fans of mystery will enjoy how Lark goes all out to solve this case. . . . Main characters are well fleshed out, and the author does a wonderful job of bringing this island and its inhabitants to life. . . . An entertaining mystery for fans of Sammy Keyes and Nancy Drew about family, loss, and the importance of ­friendship."—School Library Journal

"Editors' Pick, Best Book Ages 9 - 12   — Amazon.com

 

Click on the buttons above

to read the full reviews!

Punctuated with transcripts, letters, maps, black-and-white illustrations and more, The Swallowtail Legacy: Wreck at Ada's Reef is a vibrant contemporary mystery with a classic feel exploring righting past wrongs, redefining family, and finding yourself.
 
Twelve-year-old Lark Heron-Finch is steeling herself to spend the summer on Swallowtail Island off the shores of Lake Erie. It's the first time that she and her sister will have seen the old house since their mom passed away. And while her stepfather and his boys are okay, the island's always been full of happy memories--and now everything is different.

When Nadine, a close family friend, tells Lark about a tragic boat accident that happened off the coast many years before, Lark's enthralled with the story. Nadine's working on a book about Dinah Purdy, Swallowtails's oldest resident who had a connection to the crash, and she's sure that the accident was not as it appeared. Impressed by Lark's keen eye, she hires her as her research assistant for the summer.

And then Lark discovers something amazing. Something that could change Dinah's life. Something linked to the crash and even to her own family's history with Swallowtail. But there are others on the island who would do anything to keep the truth buried in the watery depths of the past.
 
A compelling and complex mystery with a classic feel, Wreck at Ada's Reef is perfect for fans of The Parker Inheritance, Holes, The Westing Game, and anyone looking for a satisfying puzzle that stretches across decades.
 

 

Planning a trip to Swallowtail Island? Here's the map that appears in the book, courtesy of Pixel+Ink Books and artist Torborg Davern:

Swallowtail-Legacy-Map_Final-768x580.jpg